Stepping it up for live blogging

I feel invigorated by the pace set for the live-blog event I did at Tuesday’s AUC/ICFJ film screening. It’s true that journalists get a bang out of their work just from the energy required to get the story. It took some time for me to find a stride between reading subtitles and responding to the meanings in each short film. This format was new to me, but I can see why so many people like it.

interview

Annie interviews Craig Duff (Photo by Alaa al Dajani)

The audio section of the reporting came a little easier to me. I admit, I was intimidated to pop up and interview a room full of film makers and journalists. What I discovered was that, knowing what it’s like to be in my shoes, everyone I spoke to was gracious and helpful.

Alaa, one of the students there to present a film short, sent me this photo and said, “now I can easily share yesterday with my family and friends back in Cairo. They haven’t seen the blog live though but I am sure they will enjoy it and appreciate it.”

It’s cool to count people in Cairo as I consider who my audience is!

Leave a comment

Filed under journalism

Leave a Reply

